“I am an Island.” Or am I?

“A winter’s day
In a deep and dark December;
I am alone,
Gazing from my window to the streets below
On a freshly fallen silent shroud of snow.
I am a rock,
I am an island.”

These words were part of Paul Simon’s lyrics to a famous song back in 1965.

I was a student studying for the priesthood in the Anglican Church. I had reached the time when students were required to give their first official sermon. In front of a potentially highly critical audience. I chose these words as the premise for my sermon.

I was attempting to demonstrate that an aspect of our being preferred to be isolated from the rest of the community, yet that aspect was indeed contrary to the awareness that Maslow put forward that after survival and safely, people sought out love and belonging.

There appears to be in this observation of Maslow that once the very basic needs are met that we all crave to belong.

A couple of years ago, I made a decision to purchase a property that I could renovate and possibly on-sell some years later. This was a great idea, many people I know where and are doing it as a viable option for creating income.

This was probably about 3 years ago. Since that time after much procrastinating, nothing has happened.

I don’t have any idea about how to proceed. Where to start and then where to go next. Part of this is that I don’t seem to be able to pinpoint what the finished product will look like. No vision, no creative awareness of the possible outcome for the place.

After many dry gullies I finally spoke to a friend who I have come to realise is very creative. I met with them and a compatriot today and was asked a pile of questions that I had not even considered were an option.

Suddenly the future direction of this venture has taken on a very rosy perception.

What happened? I say to myself. What was different today to yesterday?

The only answer I can come up with is that I gave up the idea of being totally an island, alone in this world, needing to be the sole provider of answers to all my issues.

Instead I become part of a community, suddenly I belonged, these people had skills that I did not possess. Which is quite interesting as I work with one of them as their business coach. I provide a perspective with them that on their own they are not able to find.

I have something of value to offer them that they need and they have something of value to offer me that I need.

They were overjoyed that they could be of service to me and assist me in my weak link area. Fully open to be aware that I was helping them in their weak link area.

Something in my was more than happy assisting others to achieve their vision, their desires for their business. Yet something in me did not want me to reach out for assistance.

Yes, I have dealt with that and now moved on, yet, this unwillingness directed life for quite a while. Interesting, maybe my desire to be an island, a recluse, pandered to my need to not be vulnerable, “I was okay, I had it all together, I knew it all.

Now I realise that I have grown tremendously. I have moved to the next level, I had shared my dream with someone else and that completed the dream where my vision fell short.

Alone I was highly limited in my ability to deal with certain decisions. Combined with others I was highly leveraged to actually deal powerfully with these decisions to satisfactorily bring them to completion.

As I am writing the whole synergy issue pops up. 1+1=11.  “Two heads are better that one”.  The acrostic for TEAM.

Together Everyone Achieves More.

I am built to be a community person. We are built to be community people.

I am not alone, I am part of an incredible community. I need to stop and allow myself to be vulnerable within this community, and that is okay because the others in the community are just like me, they don’t really enjoy the adventure of becoming vulnerable either. Yet at the same time they have the same awareness as me. We have a built in need to belong and when we do we actually achieve much more than we would have done alone.

Posted on November 16, 2010, in growing, searching, understanding me. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

