Good Leaders Lead Themselves First

How well can you answer the question: “Who are you?”

Not: Who would you like to be?

Not: Who do you think you are?

Not: who do I want everyone to think I am?

No: Who are YOU?

Objectively — What are your strengths and weaknesses?

What is you “shown” side and your “shadow” side?

Each of my clients-before I see them for the first time is asked to do two personality assessment. DISC and Enneagram. The reason why these two and not the many others is another future post.

They give me an in depth awareness of how–through a series of questions that you answer– you are seeing the world at this moment.

They do not define you. All they do is tell me how things are at this moment. 12 months ago or in 12 months time the result could be different.

I then get you to look at the summary of awareness that your answers have suggested is you at this moment and ask you in what you have read:

How much do you recognize of you and are happy with?

How much do you recognize of you and are not happy with?

How much would you like to recognize but can’t?

How much do you not recognize and are glad that you can’t?

This is the process of getting to know “who you are”.

In “Snow White and the Seven Dwarves“, the queen had a magic mirror that she was able to ask about who was the most beautiful in the land. It usually answered that she was but once Snow White was old enough it gave her the honest answer. Her step daughter, Snow White was.

How willing are you to allow your mirror to talk back to you and give you an honest answer?

If you asked it: How good a listener am I? How caring am I? How open to ideas am I? How easily do I lose my temper? How arrogant am I?

Would you be open to the answer that the mirror would give you?

To be a good leader one needs to listen to the mirror.

All Leaders definitely need a mirror. Someone to help them to come to terms with what the rest of the world sees when it looks at them.

As a coach I facilitate, for leaders, this process, as the starting off point for learning truly how to be a good leader.

If I may be so blunt as to ask this question: “Do you truly know who YOU are?

If you can’t answer in all honesty yes, then we need to talk.

Drop me an email. Respond to this post. Don’t waste any time.

The rest of the world sees you as you are. You are the only one who may not.

Get some certainty that you are projecting to the world the message that you say you are projecting.

Make sure who you think you are is how others actually see you.

Posted on September 12, 2011, in behaviour typing, Business, growing, honesty, leadership, Management, openness, personality profiling, searching, self leadership, understanding me, vulnerability. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

